a little Monet makes a Minh smile

There is a soccer game at Stade de Gerland today in Lyon. I know this because there were many many men out today wearing “Olympique Lyonnais” scarves and soccer jerseys outside the stadium (stade = stadium). I pass by the stadium on my way home from work when I decide to take the metro and not the bus. The game hadn’t started yet, but it was quite the sight, especially since there were all these food trucks that set up along my walk! The smells were intense with hot dogs, sausages, and kebabs all on the grill!

This past weekend I went to the city of love. I spent a lot of time doing this.

Still confused about what the city of love is? Well, I will give you a hint.

Inside the Louvre

The eyesore of the city

P

A

R

I

S

!

You got it! You are amazing.

What is there to say that hasn’t already been said of this city, reputed to be the most romantic city in the world? The Louvre, the Notre Dame, the Sacre Coeur, the Red Light District, Luxembourg- all have been written about, sung about, and heard about by pretty much everyone.  There is nothing quite like walking along the Seine, seeing the palaces of old, having a drink at THE Bistro Chat Noir (don’t know what I’m talking about? Google image the phrase) under a terrace that reminds one eerily of Van Gogh’s Starry Night.

Notre Dame

All of this, it’s all in Parisian legend. But surprisingly enough, what brought me the most happiness in Paris were Monet’s Waterlilies, to be found at the Musee de l’Orangerie in the Jardin des Tulieres. Les Nymphéas, as they are called in French, are some of Monet’s most fabulous works in my opinion. Who else could paint such magnificent pieces of art that span an entire wall? If you look closely at them, you will see that each stroke looks like it was just tossed across a piece of canvas, but looking at the entire work, all of these strokes somehow mesh together so beautifully.

Part of the Waterlilies

Standing in front of Les Nympheas brought me happiness and made my heart beat a little faster. I guess history is correct. Paris is pretty romantic.

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “a little Monet makes a Minh smile

  1. Jill says:

    Consider me jealous! Olympique Lyonnais might not be high up in the fixture table (umm league results) right now, but they’ve got one of my favorite French footballers, Yoann Gourcuff.

  2. Jess says:

    Yoann Gourcuff is hot.

    anyway, I like all of your outfits. They are adorable!

  3. M-fizzle says:

    J’ADORE le Musee de l’Orangerie!! Est-ce que tu as plus des photos que je peux regarder?
    Aussi, I love how you wore a beret in Paris. and. totally. pulled. it. off. Beautiful.

    French soccer players are HOT. I suggest you profit from going to a game. And meeting some tall handsom joueurs de foot.

Leave a Reply

