an American Thanksgiving in Grenoble

Grenoble nights

I know this post comes a few days late, but Happy Thanksgiving! Forgive my delay but I have been traveling around France (more blog posts to come to describe how I spent my Thanksgiving holiday).

The thing about being an expat is that oftentimes your holidays do not overlap with the holidays of your new country of residence. Thanksgiving is not a holiday in France. I’ve been trying to explain to the French why exactly Thanksgiving is so awesome, but it is just rather difficult to explain that it’s the day of giving thanks, the day of American gluttony, the start of the holiday season, a scholarly vacation for students, and an excuse to eat lots and lots of turkey with friends and family!

Lower level of Pumpkins

Well, just because I live in France does not mean that I didn’t celebrate Thanksgiving-in fact, the fact that I wasn’t in the good ole US of A made me more determined to eat a real American dinner. I had done a bit of research a few weeks ago on American restaurants in the vicinity of Lyon, and stumbled across a little restaurant named “Pumpkins,” located in Grenoble (about an hour southeast of Lyon). Bob and Sylvie have been in business since 2004. More importantly, they serve American Thanksgiving dinner. I also have a friend named Cecilia who lives in Grenoble (remember my trip to Geneva?) I bet you can guess what I did for Thanksgiving….!

1.     Train tickets: 19.60 €

2.      Dinner: 30€ – included an aperatif of what seemed to be a rosé champagne), red wine, turkey dinner with mashed potatos, sweet potatos, stuffing, gravy and SECONDS!, and a dessert of of pecan pie and pumpkin pie

3.     Celebrating with a fellow American: priceless!

Mountains, oh mountains

Thursday after work – I left at 4 pm – I headed off to the train station and hopped a train to Grenoble. Dinner was fabulous, but unfortunately I couldn’t do very much touring of Grenoble. It’s a pity that I had to come back to Lyon Friday morning to take care of some administrative things with my carte de sejour (visa).  But, when I woke up at Cecilia’s apartment Friday morning, I was greeted on all sides by images of mountains! Grenoble is situated in a valley and surrounded by mountains-specifically, Chartreuse (north), Vercors (southwest) and the Italian Alps (east). I was actually quite fortunate because around 45 minutes after I woke up, it started snowing like crazy, thereby obscuring all the mountains. One day soon, I’ll have to visit Grenoble during the sun hours. Soon enough, I think.

First snowfall of the year

If you are reading this, please know that I am thankful for you. For what would any of us amount to without our dear family and friends? I’m thinking about you all and sending you warm fuzzy hugs from France. Happy Thanksgiving once more!

à plus.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “an American Thanksgiving in Grenoble

  1. M-fizzle says:

    tres bien fait, minh! and SECONDS, that restaurant really does understand americans. for what is thanksgiving without seconds?

    i am very jealous of your snow.

Leave a Reply

