winter wonderland

I wavered for a long time on the title of this post. The alternate title for this post would have been “why I love trains” but I think the title I eventually settled on was better.

We had our first snowfall in France this past weekend. I seem to have followed it around as I scampered north to the Alsace region of France – the part that borders Germany and Switzerland. I had a 4 hour train ride up to Mulhouse on Sunday. And below, my friends, is what I saw, under grey skies filled with endless clouds.

This was my first impression of the French countryside under a blanket of snow.

A little while later, we started following this river.

A split second later, another shot-

I wish I knew the name of this river, but alas, I don’t even know where we were when we passed by this area. Nonetheless, I think it would be brilliant to live in one of these quaint little villages.

Maybe in one of these houses?


I think the views during the winter would just be so phenomenal from these hills.

These photos seem so ephemeral to me. I have no doubt that when I take the same journey north up to Strasbourg in a few weeks, I will pass by the same river and the same homes. But will I recognize these places again? The chances of that happening are so slim. But never fear, I will try my hardest to keep my eyes open and inquisitive on the ride, if only to capture fleeting moments like this on a train.

Tagged , , ,

5 thoughts on “winter wonderland

  1. Marlena says:

    Oh Minh, how wonderful! Thank you so much for sharing!

  2. M-fizzle says:

    j’adore ta neige et ta vie

  3. Jillian says:

    Somehow Boston has managed far less snow than Europe. I am not sure how that happened. But the pictures are lovely.

  4. […] November 28, 2010- Took a 5 hour train ride up to Mulhouse (I briefly mentioned this ride earlier). I had delicious Alsacian […]

  5. […] high speed rail network. The train ride between the Rhone region and the Alsace region has awed me every time. GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); […]

Leave a Reply

