Dijon

Saturday November 27, 2010- No, not the mustard, but the city that is internationally renowned simply because its name refers to the mustard that adorns many a French and American table. And no, I did not visit this capital of the Burgundy region of France to eat mustard (although there was plenty of it to be found and the food in Dijon was excellent!!)

MUSTARD!, a ficelle with chorizo and cheese, red vin chaud (mulled wine), and tea with a pain d'epice!

Instead, I came for the CHRISTMAS season. The last weekend of November marks the beginning of the annual Christmas market season all across Europe, which means the famed Christmas markets were opening all across France, Germany, etc etc. You may think I am crazy, but I actually planned my travels for late November/all of December based on which French cities had Christmas markets and whether they would be open on Saturdays and Sundays. My first stop was Dijon, owl city.

TOP row: Before the sunset, BOTTOM row: lights turn on at night!

It snowed pretty much my entire visit, but I was prepared with my pink umbrella. In fact, I think part of the reason why I liked Dijon so much was that it was simply gorgeous under a blanket of snow around sundown.

Part of my travel inevitably involves stumbling on events or other elements of culture. I was fortunate to be wandering around the Christmas market when I happened upon an outdoor concert sponsored by the city of Dijon called “Le concert de feu” = literally, Fire Concert. It was performed by a street arts group that used fireworks, sounds, drums, and awesome lights to hail the start of Christmas.

After the concert, the city turned on all the street lights. Night had fallen. Christmastime had arrived.

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Dijon

  1. M-fizzle says:

    MPHL is a baller. and perhaps a jet-setter as well.

Leave a Reply

