An Alsacian Christmas, part 3/3 (Colmar)

Sunday December 19, 2010- As I had found myself in Northeastern France over the weekend before Christmas, I decided to round out my tour of Alsacian France by heading to France’s “petite Venise.” Colmar, 30 minutes south of Strasbourg and 20 minutes north of Mulhouse, is a charming city of under 70,000 people. It was home to a very famous sculptor by the name of Frédéric Bartholdi. Haven’t heard of him? Neither had I until I learned that he was the guy who designed the Statue of Liberty.

Below you see my first images from Colmar.

COLORFUL. VIBRANT. ARCHITECTURALLY ALSACIAN. I was lucky that my day trip coincided with one of the most beautiful days I’ve seen (it was even better than the day in Avignon, believe it or not). Colmar was in fact quite magical in that it was one of the only places on the train ride that wasn’t covered in snow!

Petite Venise lived up to its name as well.

I think if Colmar was a lady, she’d be the belle of the ball. More images from Little Venice are below. The reflections of the buildings and clouds on the water are some of the reasons why I love bodies of water, be they streams, oceans, rivers, or lakes.

But as you have undoubted surmised by my previous blog posts, the reason I was here was to visit Colmar’s 5 Christmas markets.


You’ll notice that all of these pictures were taken during the day-unfortunately it was a Sunday and I had to be back in Lyon for work Monday morning. I therefore was not in Colmar to see the Christmas lights turn on, but I think that I am quite satisfied with what I saw.

Of course, seeing this on the walk to the train station (left) and a beautiful sunset (right) while on the train didn’t hurt either.

Well folks, not only does that conclude our Alsacian Christmas series, that’ll be it for my pre-Christmas posts! I wish you all a very merry Christmas, wherever you are in the world.

Bisous et bonnes fêtes de fin d’année!

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “An Alsacian Christmas, part 3/3 (Colmar)

  1. M-fizzle says:

    This is where I imagine Belle lives. She will be dancing around reading her books and sitting by the fountain. Frolicking on the cobblestone streets and saying “Bonjour!” to the old women in their windows. All is well with the world. This village is just too charming. Et oui, je suis d’accord, l’eau est spectaculaire.

  2. Tiffany says:

    oh my. such beautiful buildings. such holiday cheer. i miss france very much. and i miss you minhzie!

Leave a Reply

