St. Valentin!

Today is February 14th, meaning it’s Valentine’s Day! In France, the holiday is called la fête de la Saint-Valentin. Everyone knows what this holiday was meant for, so instead of writing a lot today, I’m just going to show you what my bakery had starting Saturday– tartes for Valentine’s Day, a la francais! Valentine’s Day here is much less commercialized, with shops only advertising the week before. I’m glad to see that the bakeries, though, have special cakes for the holiday though. It wouldn’t be a real Valentine’s Day anywhere without an abundance of hearts!

If you’re wondering, yes, I did try one of these cakes. I was invited to dinner chez mes amis Saturday night, so I thought it was appropriate to bring a chocolate mousse heart cake. It was, in a word, delicious.

Even though this holiday is not nearly as Hallmark dominated here as it is in the USA, I still celebrated it in my own way. I headed out to the movie theater to watch “La chance de ma vie,” a French romantic comedy (see trailer here). Translated, the title means, “The chance of my life,” and this movie about the things that happen, often seemingly for the worse, but somehow ending up all for the better. Of course, the romance was somewhat predictable in that you know these two clowns end up together, but their story was quite curvy. The movie made me smile and it made me laugh. But more importantly I watched it in French without any subtitles and understood probably 90% of the conversations.  It’s so rewarding to know that living in this country has in fact taught me a lot about the French language. I certainly have picked up a lot of colloquial French during my stay so far and I am excited to see what else I can learn during my remaining 4ish months.

I’m thinking of you all from France. Happy Valentine’s Day!

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “St. Valentin!

  1. M-fizzle says:

    tu etre mon autre valentin?
    (le premier est mon ami)
    bisous!

Leave a Reply

