what colorful confetti – Mardi Gras 3/3

In case you haven’t quite figured it out, I adored Carnaval. So much that I’ve devoted three full blog posts to each of the parades I attended during my weekend in Nice. This is the last of the Mardi Gras photo festivals. If you’ve made it this far, thanks for bearing with me.

The Bataille de Fleurs was about flowers and the Corso Illuminé was about light. The final event, the Corso Carnavalesque, was all about laughter and streams of color.

The Carnavalesque took place Sunday afternoon and was full of fun, colorful confetti, and happiness. It followed the same route as the Corso Illuminé around Place Massena and the Albert 1er garden. The garden, above, was decked out in windmills and the flowers were all in bloom. We saw people staking our their spots as early as an hour beforehand.

After Yuri left to go to the airport, I headed to the Promenade des Anglais, part of the free zone.  My first bouts of laughter came after two guys tossed 3 handfuls of confetti on me. I had to fit in with these people you see; they were so colorful, some in costume, some in wigs, some with full facial masks.

A tip to those travelers who might go to a Carnavale in Nice: only buy tickets to the Bataille de Fleurs. For the two Corso parades you can easily find a great spot along the parade path with great views.

Another reason you shouldn’t pay to sit: if you go to the standing area, you can even play with the people in the parade.

The performers might blow streamers onto you! No, they WILL blow streamers on you- check out the guy on the right, below. He was serious. Every child I saw was screaming with laughter and giggling and throwing confetti right back at Mr. Streamers.

Some people ended up getting quite rowdy with the parade performers; a squirt of sticky stuff onto a float might end with you getting pelted with confetti! The lady in the left photo below was outnumbered 2-to-1 after she squirted the male on the float…!

I didn’t quite fit in until I had confetti pieces in my hair. Luckily, a clown came by, kissed me on the cheek, then proceeded to rub gel in my hair. He then dumped a huge handful of confetti on my head. If that wasn’t enough, the two little girls next to me decided that it was time to “bombe” me and squirt me with pink and blue sticky stuff. It was great. I don’t think I’ve laughed so hard in days.

Thank you, Nice, for throwing a marvelous Carnaval. This was one of the best weekends I’ve had in France.

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “what colorful confetti – Mardi Gras 3/3

  1. Neringa says:

    Hi!

    I am Neringa from Travelavenue.com our editorial team has selected your blog to be a part of our program “Travelavenue favorite blog 2011”.

    Could you please send me your email?

    I will explain you our program in details.

    Many thanks,
    Neringa
    neringa@travelavenue.com
    http://www.travelavenue.com

  2. M-fizzle says:

    adorable
    trop chouette
    mon amie tu a la vie!
    j’adore les couleurs
    j’aime les costumes
    tu es tres mingon
    comme toujours (bis!)
    dites moi de la musique a la fete!
    comment est la climat?
    et du soleil!!
    c’est incroyable, en effet.

    • minhzie says:

      la musique était de pop! la plupart était le pop américain mais il y avait quelques chansons français aussi, comme “alors on danse” de stromae! c’était vraiment magnifique.

      wish you could have been there!

  3. Elizabeth says:

    I love this last picture of you!! How wonderful that there was so much laughter 🙂

Leave a Reply

