One of my best friends came to visit!

Let’s take a break from the adventures of weekends that have already passed by and fast forward to the present. This weekend, I had the pleasure of hosting one of my best friends from college.

This is my friend Jillian at a café along the Saône River in Lyon, France last Thursday (this is May 2011).

We met my freshman year of college. If memory serves me correctly, I think it was Sept/Oct 2006. I was a confused freshman at the dining hall in our dorm and I asked Jillian if I could sit at her table. At the time, Jillian was a wise, seasoned junior at our school and pretty much one of the most intelligent, witty, and stylish people I’d met. Actually, to this day.

We’ve managed to stay great friends despite our difference in age, her going off to grad school (ok, well, her grad school was only 2 miles down from our undergrad =p ), and now, me moving to France. The pictures above are of us back in Boston; the left is from July 2008 at Jillian’s housewarming party and the right is from my 21st birthday celebration in 2009! So. What do you do when your best friend comes to visit?

We walked around Lyon and painted the town red.

We ate at lots of restaurants. The food was mostly good. But we also ate at a very mustardy and ridiculously fatty bouchon with enormous portions. Seriously. Two people cannot eat 6 x 80 g pieces of cheese.

We went biking in the rain and walked around a rose garden at the Parc de la Tête d’Or. Rain never killed anyone, right?

We walked up and down the hills of Lyon and passed through the traboules.

We talked, we gossiped, and we sat at cafes for hours just catching up from the last time we saw each other (during my visit to Boston in January 2011).

I just put her on a plane to her next destination but man, I miss her already.

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “One of my best friends came to visit!

  1. Ah ! This is so fun! I was hoping one of my friends from college could come visit. You girls look so cute and Frenchie!

  2. M-fizzle says:

    awww

  3. A J says:

    Seems you guys had great fun. With friends time just flies. I am already missing my friends here….

Leave a Reply

