Munich is Marvelous

So, I’ve already told you about the wonderful beers that can be found in Munich, capital of Bavaria. In my eyes, Munich has so much more than just beer going for it. I found Munich in May to be beautiful.

My first impression of Munich was of its main square, Marienplatz, at night. I came back the next morning and found it to be pretty similar. The architecture is more visible in the light, of course.

There was a performance of a traditional Bavarian dance.

The city was grand but not overly imposing.

There were arches everywhere, outside as well as inside.

Even in the middle of the street.

But then, I found the gardens. And after that, I was sold on Munich.

The Hofgarten is a beautiful Renaissance garden in the middle of the city – the name means “Court Garden.”

The Englischergarten is a 1.4 sq. mile park that goes from the Munich city center to the northeastern city limits.

There’s a perpetual wave in the Englischergarten where surfers surf all year round.

Would you believe that this image is taken in the middle of an urban city?

No visit to gardens would be complete without flower shots.

Then I found the Alter Botanischer Garten. Of course, there was a beer garden.

I sat on a bench and watched these children play in the fountain.

Have I convinced you yet that Munich is marvelous?

Tagged , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Munich is Marvelous

  1. I went to Munich in October and LOVED it. It was so romantic and gorgeous! I definitely fell in love with Germany during this year abroad 🙂

  2. Jill says:

    Everything looks gorgeous! When we have the money and the time I’m just going to steal you and we’re going to run around Europe

  3. Linds says:

    I was so happy to stumble across your blog on Le Fabueux Destin de Brenna and to see your post on Munich. I’m heading there for Christmas this year and was excited to read such a positive review of the city! Love your pics!

    • minhzie says:

      Hi Linds! Nice to meet you! Munich in December must be beautiful. I can only imagine what a blanket of snow will do to the city. Try one of the beer+lemonade drinks. They’re so tasty. Also the art museums there are pretty great. I like the art in the Neue Pinakoteck the best, but the Modern and the Brandhorst are pretty great too. Have a great trip!
      Bises 🙂
      PS. Your blog is absolutely great. Love your writing style.

  4. […] the Rhône. Her European travels took her to other parts of the country, as well as nearby Spain, Germany, Britain and Switzerland. Not one to stay idle, Minh has just completed a 6-week road trip across […]

Leave a Reply

