Austin Eats

TEX-MEX WITH A VIEW

The first thing we did upon our arrival to Austin, TX, was to go grab lunch. Upon the recommendation of one of my blog friends, AJ, we made a beeline for the Oasis. We drove up a rather large hill/mountain and saw this unassuming entrance to the famed restaurant. Actually, the first thing that I saw was the huge lone star on the ground. Gotta love that Texan pride.

But as we entered the restaurant and went to the other side, we immediately realized why the Oasis is incredibly popular. The two statues of children are so playful – they make me just want to dive into shimmering Lake Travis.

Even though it was hot and sticky outside, my mother and I didn’t mind sitting here – just look at this place. It’s supposed to be one of the best places to watch the sunset in Austin, and I can see why. Can you imagine the colors of a sunset here?

There was another building next to us – I assume it’s a competiting restaurant – whatever architect designed this building was quite good at his/her job.

This is the view of the Oasis restaurant from a different angle. The food we had was all right. I’ve never been a big fan of Tex-Mex, so I didn’t love the food. But I’m not really sure people go here for the food. Just look at that view!

On our way out, we saw this funny looking map of the USA.

I believe the map refers to Maryland as part of the “Damn Yankees” region- awesome! As least I’m not part of the poor South and got lumped into East Texas. My style is definitely not quite Texan…even though I’ve got a straw hat it isn’t really up to par with a legitiimate cowgirl hat. And I’m definitely not part of Somewhere Oer Yonder!

ICE CREAM

In the afternoons, you might want some ice cream to cool off with. Texas sun is not something to mess around with, folks. It is HOT there. For the best ice cream in town, head to “SoCo,” or South Congress Street, and dive into a delicious cone at Amy’s ice cream.

I suggest the Mexican vanilla flavor-it’s a different type of vanilla bean but it’s sweeter!

COFFEE CAFE

If you’re not in the mood for ice cream, don’t worry. Across the street from Amy’s Ice Cream is Jo’s Cafe. It’s an outdoor seating only cafe that does coffee and “good food.” It looked really cute and if it wasn’t so hot that day I would totally have gotten a coffee there.

LIVE MUSIC

Music is real big in Austin, and one of the best places to go for live music is the Continental Club.  It’s just down the block from Amy’s and features two nightly shows each day.

Tagged , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Austin Eats

  1. Bina says:

    i love the oasis and amy’s!! and you were just in houston! i’m so glad you’re enjoying my hood 🙂

  2. Bina says:

    also, before they rebuilt it, the oasis used to ring a bell right at sunset… i’m not sure if they do it anymore

  3. A J says:

    Great to know you enjoyed being at Oasis. I havent been to Amys, will visit it my next time.

Leave a Reply

