4 wonderful days in Scottsdale, AZ

Pardon my long absences, friends. It seems that school caught up with me (again). Last week I had the chance to go to Scottsdale, AZ and let me tell you, it was a glorious 4 days. Here in the DC/Baltimore area it was starting to be a little chilly, rainy–everything you would expect a Mid Atlantic spring to be like. When I stepped off the plane I was struck by how dry the heat was. In fact, the pilot on our flight over told us how the weather in Phoenix/Scottsdale had cooled down to 92. From a temperature of 96 at midday.

Well. As my last post might have implied, I spent a lot of time by the pool. We stayed at the Phoenician Hotel, a luxurious resort nestled at the foot of the Camelback Mountain.

20130429_141540

Let me tell you, this hotel was the works. I don’t usually write about my lodging so much, but this hotel deserved a mention. You like golf? There’s a huge (beautiful) golf course.  Tennis/gym/hiking up the mountain, quality bars and restaurants? Yup. It’s a 5-diamond resort, what else would you expect? 24 hour pool? You got it. You want poolside service? Of course, here’s your pina colada.

20130429_143454

The view from the hotel was pretty spectacular too. My phone camera didn’t quite do it justice…

20130429_185650

So many pools! Seven in total, I think. There was a hot tub and water slide too.
20130430_160837One night we were up in one of the suites for pre-dinner champagne. I caught this not-quite-sunset shot.

20130429_185639

So who wants to jetset to Arizona now?

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

